States and Capitals of India | Union Territories and their Capital

February 16, 2018 0 Comment

India is the seventh largest country in the world. India’s population is more than 120 crore. India is thus the second populated country in the world, after china.

New Delhi is the capital of India. The central government in New Delhi takes care of welfare and security of the people of India.

India is a big country. Like all big countries in the world India is also divided into different states. The states have their own governments. India also has a few union territories.

The map of India on the previous page shows the states and the union territories. There are 29 states and 7 union territories in India. Every state has its own capital. The main offices of the state governments are located in their capital cities.

Here is the list of States and Capitals of India along with Union Territories

State Capital
Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
Assam Dispur
Bihar Patna
Chhattisgarh Raipur
Goa Panaji
Gujarat Gandhinagar
Haryana Chandigarh
Himachal Pradesh Shimla
Jammu & Kashmir Srinagar
Jharkhand Ranchi
Karnataka Bengaluru
Kerala Thiruvananthapuram
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal
Maharashtra Mumbai
Mainpur Imphal
Meghalaya Shilong
Mizoram Aizawl
Nagaland Kohima
Odisha Bhubaneshwar
Punjab Chandigarh
Rajasthan Jaipur
Sikkim Gangtok
Tamil Nadu Chennai
Telangana Hyderabad
Tripura Agartala
Uttarakhand Dehra Dun
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow
West Bengal Kolkata


Union Territories Capital
Delhi (National Capital Territory Delhi
Andaman and Nicobar islands Port Blair
Chandigarh Chandigarh
Dadra and Nagar Haveli Silvassa
Daman and Diu Daman
Lakshadweep islands Kavaratti
Puducheery Puducherry

The union territories are governed by the central government. Formerly, Delhi was a union territory but some years back it has been awarded the status of the national capital territory.

Rajasthan is the largest state, while goa is the smallest state. Uttar Pradesh is the most populated state while Sikkim has the lowest population.

Among the union territories, the Andaman and the Nicobar Islands are the largest. Lakshadweep has the lowest population and is the smallest islands.

India is divided into states on the basis of the languages spoken. A person from Punjab speaks Punjabi. Likewise, a person from west Bengal speaks Bengali different languages, have different customs, eat different kinds of foods and wear different clothes.

Yet, we are all united as Indians as we all belong to this country called India.
Everyone feel proud to be an Indian first and then a Gujarat or a Punjabi or a Rajasthan. We must respect one another and remain united as Indians.

Share it and become a STAR:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked * hosts an extensive collection of essays for students. Here, you can find short paragraph write-ups and speeches, apart from essays in English. Browse through our collection of holiday pages to learn about the history of national holidays in India.

Essays for children are usually from 100 words essay, 200 words essay, 300 words essay , 400 words essay, 500 words essay, 600 words essay, 700 words essay, 800 words essay, 900 words essay and 1000 words. Our collection of essays for class 1, class 2, class 3, class 4, class 5, class 6, class 7, class 8, class 9, and class 10 students and children help in preparing write-ups for assignments, exams, and competitive events.

We will soon be launching essay in Hindi for the benefit of our valued users.

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word to your Friends 😊