Important Dates in Indian History | PDF Download

February 15, 2018 0 Comment

Qualifying any entrance exams needs excellent knowledge, of General Knowledge. Here I’m listing the important dates of Indian History with short description.  This list is very helpful in last moment of preparation. You can too download the important dates of India History PDF.

Important Dates in Indian History

Important Dates  Description
B C. (Before Christ)
563 Birth of Gautama Buddha, Nirvana (483 B C.)
599 Birth of Mahavir, Nirvana (527 B C.)
327-26 Alexander’s invasion of India. It opened a land route between India and Europe
273-232 Asoka’s reign
58 Beginning of Vikram Era
A D. (After Christ)
300-500 Gupta Dynasty the golden age of Hindu India.
405-411 Visit of Fahien (Chinese Traveller)
606-647 Harsh Vardhan’s reign
1001 First invasion of India by Mahmud Ghazni
1191 Prithviraj defeats Mohd. Guari at last battle of Tarain
1192 Mohammed Guari defeats Prithviraj Chauhan  at 2nd battle of Tarain.
1498 Discovery of sea-route to India by Vasco-de-Gama
1526 First battle of Panipat, Babar founded Mughal Empire in India.
1600 East India Company established in India (31st Dec.)
1657-1659 War of succession among the sons of Shah Jahan begins
1707 Reign of Aurangzeb
1761 Third battle of Panipat
1764 Battle of Buxar (Bihar)
1773 Regulating Act
1833 Macaulay recommended English to be the medium of Instruction in India.
1853 First Railway Line opened in India
1857 Indian  Mutiny for independence, Calcutta, Bombay and Madras University founded
1869 Birth of Mahatma Gandhi (2nd Oct.)
1885 Indian National Congress founded.
1889 Pt.  Jawaharlal Nehru born (14th Nov.)
1905 Partition of Bengal
1911 Partition of Bengal revoked
1919 Jalianwalah Bagh tragedy
1920 Non-co-operation Movement started by Mahatma Gandhi.
1928 Visit of Simon Commission boycotted.
1929 Resolution passed for Purna Swaraj for India at Lahore Congress under the president ship of Jawaharlal Nehru (31st Dec.)
1930 First Round table Conference of London.
1937 Provincial Autonomy, Congress forms Ministers
1942 Arrival of Cripps Mission in India; Quit India resolution passed by Congress
1943-1944 Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose forms provisional Azad Hind Hukumat
1947 Division of India; India and Pakistan formed into separate independent Dominions; Independence Day
1948 Mahatma Gandhi assassinated (Jan. 30)
1949 Cease-fire in Kashmir; Indian Constitution signed and adopted
1950 India becomes a Sovereign Democratic Republic; Death of Sardar Patel; Dr. Rajendra Prasad elected President   of India Republic.
1951 First Five Year Plan commenced
1952 First General Elections in the country; Congress Party comes to power.
1956 States Reorganization Act
1957 2nd General Elections in India.
1961 Liberation of Goa (Dec. 18)
1962 Third General Election in India; Chinese attack on India (20th Oct.)
1964 Death of Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru (27th May), Lal Bahadur Shastri elected as the Prime Minister of India.
1965 Indo-Pak War.
1966 Tashkent Agreement signed between India and Pakistan (Jan. 10)
1967 Fourth General Elections held.
1969 Split in the Indian National Congress; death of President Dr. Zakir Hussain and election of V. V. Giri as President of India.
1971 Mid-term elections for Lok Sabha; Indo-Soviet Treaty (9th August), Indo-Pak War (Dec. 3-17) Defeat of Pakistan; Bangladesh formed (Dec. 16)
1972 Reorganization of the North-Easten region-Meghalaya, Manipur and Tripura became fully Fledged States and new Union Territories of Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram came into being (Jan. 20, 21).
1973 Death of M.S. Golwalker (R.S.S. Chief); Indo-Pak Delhi Agreement (Aug.)
1974 India’s Nuclear Blast; 36th Constitution (Amendment) Bill passed by Parliament making Sikkim as an associate State of India.
1975 India lifts World Hockey Cup at Kualalumpur, India enters space age by launching ‘Aryabhatta’. Sikkim becomes the 22nd State of the Union.
1976 Four Indian News Agencies changed into a single News Agency ‘Samachar’; India announces appointment of an ambassador to China (April 16)
1977 Death of President Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (Feb. 11); Polling for the Sixth Lok Sabha begins (March 16); Janata Party comes into existence (May 1); Janata Party comes into power; Seventh Finance Commission appointed.
1978 Inauguration of National Adult Education Programme (2nd Oct.); 44th Constitution Amendment Bill, as amended by the Rajya Sabha passed by the Lok Sabha (Dec.)
1979 Agreement between India and Canada on the setting up of Joint Commission for economic trade and technological co-operation; India’s Second Satellite Bhaskara launched into space.
1980 Reservation for Scheduled Caste and Tribes in the Lok Sabha and State Legislative Assemblies extended for a further period of ten years by the 45th Constitution Amendment Act (April 14); Six more commercial banks nationalized (April 15)
1981 Sixth Plan draft finalized fixing the target for growth at 5.2 per cent (23rd Jan.); Rohini Satellite in orbit (May 31); Bhasker-2 launched in orbit (Nov. 1st)
Share it and become a STAR:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word to your Friends 😊